Tags

, , ,

Now that fall is here – lots of fall food recipes are showing up on Pinterest.  Inspired – Allison and I decided to have a day of apple cooking!

Last Sunday, your weekend appreciation team bought nearly 10 pounds of apples at the NC State Farmer’s Market in Raleigh to turn into delicious treats! Throughout this week we’ll be describing the recipes we used.

Apples Galore!

First up is a very simple recipe for applesauce!  It’s the one my mom has used for years to make applesauce that my brothers and I still chow down on everytime we go over my parents.  Yet I had never made it myself – and mom never went by a written recipe.  So it took her a little bit to remember everything she puts in, but I think my first attempt came out well!

Ingredients

  • 10 apples (I used 5 jonahgold and 5 winesap)
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 2 cups of water
  • ground cinnamon to taste (I like a lot – but some people prefer less – I probably did about 1-2 tbsp worth)

Utensils

  • large pot
  • wooden spoon
  • potato masher

Ready to go on the stove

Peel and chop up the apples.  The thinner the apples are chopped, the quicker they’ll cook down.

Put all the apples, sugar, cinnamon, and water in a large pot (I use nonstick because it’s easier to clean after!), mix everything together, and set over medium heat.

Stir occasionally.  After about 30 minutes, the apples should be nice and soft and can be mashed with a potato masher.  Let the sauce cook another 5-10 minutes, before taking off the heat.  Taste and add more cinnamon if you wish.

All finished!

We then filled up mason jars to store the applesauce in the refrigerator.  But just putting it in a covered bowl works fine too – it likely won’t last a week because it’s so yummy!

