Tags

, , ,

Hello everyone! I am the other half of Weekend Appreciation and on this rainy Sunday afternoon I completed my first craft project. Today I made a picture for my bathroom using scrapbook paper to match the picture below.

ImageI have been looking for a picture to match the one above for awhile and after a lot of unsuccessful shopping trips I decided it would be much cheaper to make my one using a photo frame, scrapbook paper, and bird silhouettes I printed from the internet.

My first step in this process was an awesome shopping trip to Michaels were photo frames were 50% off. The hardest part of this project was picking the scrapbook paper. Michaels has so many great options! After what felt like hours of searching and holding pages up against each other I finally settled on the selection shown below.

Image

Image

A Google image search for “love bird silhouettes” provided me with the images of my birds. I also decided to include the sun in my picture and used Microsoft word auto shapes to get a circle. After printing my silhouettes, I traced them on the solid scrapbook paper and cut them out. For each bird silhouette, I cut out two birds on different colored paper.

Image

My next step was to start constructing the picture. I took apart my picture frame and used cut my scrapbook paper to fit the matte of the frame. I used a 5×7 index card as a guide to cut out the scrapbook paper.

Image

After cutting out my backgrounds I taped them to the matte that came with the picture frame.

Image

                                                          Back

Image

                                                           Front

I then glued my bird silhouettes to my backgrounds using an Elmer’s glue stick to create my picture.

Image

Image

Image

The final step was putting the finished product in the picture frame and hanging it on the wall.

ImageThis project took me about two hours to complete and cost around $14.00. This is a much cheaper option than buying pictures at the store. 

